Understanding the Chakra System

Understanding the Chakra System
Posted on November 20th, 2022.

The human body is composed of various physical elements (i.e. heart, lungs, limbs, etc.) that enable it to function properly. If any of these elements or aspect of the human body are injured or broken, it effects the overall functionality of the human body in general. For example, a person with lung disease will have difficulty running effectively. The impaired lungs affects the ability of the legs and heart or cardio-vascular system to function at their maximum ability during running. Each of the physical parts of the human body affects the other and are thus interconnected with each other in profound ways. Let’s call this the physical system of our “total self.”

There is also a non-physical system in the form of energy fields that are connected to the physical body and affects the functionality of the “total self” also. It’s called the Chakra System that is generally viewed as having seven major elements, as well as uncountable minor ones that are of equal value. We will focus on the seven major chakras here.

7 Major Chakra Systems

The best way to view the chakras is as energy processing centers that enable us to connect to the non-physical elements that surround us. Many would call these non-physical elements our “spiritual essence,” but I prefer to refer to them as our non-physical essences. There are too many associations, in my opinion, that are attached to the word “spiritual” that could cause us to view this “un-seen” essence as somehow separate from us. When in actuality, they are as connected to us as our hand is to our forearm. This energy system flows throughout our body just as our blood flows throughout our circulatory system. This non-physical system enables every aspect of our “total self” (our physical, emotional, mental and intuitional bodies) to function effectively. Each chakra has its own character that relates to a unique aspect of our being. They are patterns of energy whos shape can be described as funnel-like or whirlpool-like, and each one corresponds to parts of the Central Nervous System. Their vortices lie inside the body, along the spinal chord and up into the head.

When there is a blockage or other energetic dysfunction in a chakra, it usually causes disorders in the physical, mental and intuitive bodies. A defect in the energy flow of a chakra will disrupt the necessary amount of energy that flows to its corresponding element in the physical body, just as a blocked artery negatively affects the ability of the heart’s system to function properly. Even though these energy patterns don’t exist as physical elements, there are specific locations in the body where the energy patterns exist; five along the spine, and two on the head. Each chakra also has a certain color associated with it. Because the chakras are non-physical entities, it is impossible to convey a complete explanation of the nature of each chakra in words alone, but the table below will provide an introduction to the nature of each.


7 — Crown of Head/Totality of Beingness — Non-physical Perfection — Violet

6 — Forehead (3rd Eye) — Visualization/Intuition — Indigo

5 — Pit of Throat — Communication/Creative Expression — Blue

4 — Heart/Universal Love — Compassion and Empathy — Green

3 — Solar Plexus/Creation of Self — Perception and Projection of Self — Yellow

2 — Sacral (Pubic) — Desire & Sexual Energy — Orange

1 — Base of Spine Physical/Vitality — Survival — Red

Chakra Details

“Each chakra has a dominant (usually) front component, and a less dominant (usually) rear component that are intimately related. The seventh and first chakras, though, are usually represented and thought of as having only the one dominant component, as it is far, far more significant than the weaker component in these two chakras. The seventh chakra extends vertically upwards above the head. The first chakra extends forwards from the base of the spine, and downwards, at roughly a 45 degree angle, although its exact position will vary from person to person. The other five chakras, spaced between the first and seventh, have at their appropriate locations a front component extending out the front of the body and a rear component extending out the rear of the body. Aside from the entry of energy into the body through the seven major chakras, there is also an upward flow of energy in the body, from the lower to higher energy centers. The lower chakras are simpler-functioning, but as one ascends upwards there is a greater degree of sophisticated and more spiritual functioning, intimately related to the life experience and state of being of the individual”.

Source: Chios Healing.

Are you ready to get started?

Are you ready to take charge of your own life and create it as you want? Book a session package through the SHOP tab for Jaas Coaching now and change your life.